Short answer
Kingsdown's FAQ doesn't mention steam. It says 'A mattress pad and proper bed frame are the best ways to protect your mattress. Keep it free and clear of any liquids. Read our Warranty for more information.' We couldn't read its care and warranty booklet. Our dry-vapor method is our own, not a Kingsdown exemption; check your warranty terms before booking.
Key terms used on this page
- Care instructions (manufacturer care guidance):
- What a manufacturer publishes about cleaning its product: a sewn-in label, a care web page, a help-center article or a brand blog post. They carry different weight. A sewn-in label or a product-care page speaks for a specific product; a blog post often gives general advice about many mattress types. On this hub we name the document type for every quote.
- Innerspring mattress:
- A mattress whose support core is a unit of steel coils, with comparatively thin comfort layers and a quilted top. The coil core is open to airflow, which is one reason general cleaning guides treat innerspring beds as more tolerant of moisture than solid-foam beds.
- Pillow-top and Euro-top:
- An extra padded layer sewn onto the top of a mattress. On a pillow-top it is stitched on as a separate pillow-like layer; on a Euro-top it is sewn flush with the sides. The padding is usually fiber, foam or both, and it sits directly under the cleaning surface.
- Dry-vapor steam:
- Steam made in a sealed, pressurized boiler and released through a hose and nozzle as hot vapor with a low liquid-water content. In the vendor specifications we reviewed, professional units are rated from 80 psi (Ladybug 2350) to 150 psi (Daimer), with stated boiler temperatures from about 345°F (Optima) to 360°F (Daimer); these are maker claims. Daimer describes its steam as about 5% water or less and Vapor Clean claims 'just 5-6% moisture'; that is a vendor claim, not an independent standard.
- Adjustable steam output:
- A control on some commercial steam machines that sets how much steam reaches the tool. For example, Vapor Clean describes its Magnum XP (with vac) as having a 'Fully Adjustable Steam Regulator' and a 'Pressure Regulator 0 - Full Range' (maker's claims). We don't publish settings; the technician chooses them for the material.
- Pass speed:
- How fast the steam tool moves across the fabric. A faster pass gives the fabric less time under the tool, so less heat and less condensed water reach any one spot. Purple's general guide makes the same point for home steamers: move 'without leaving it in one spot for too long.'
Kingsdown makes coil mattresses sold mainly through retailers. Its public FAQ gives one short protection answer and points owners to a care and warranty booklet. It doesn't mention steam. We could not read the booklet, and we say so rather than guess what it contains.
Not affiliated with or endorsed by any manufacturer listed. Brand names are used only to identify products and their published care instructions.
1. What the manufacturer actually says
The source is Kingsdown's FAQ page (no date shown; accessed 2 October 2026).
The FAQ refers owners to a Mattress Care and Warranty booklet; the care booklet wasn't available to read when we tried, so we have not read it and don't quote it.
On protection:
"A mattress pad and proper bed frame are the best ways to protect your mattress. Keep it free and clear of any liquids. Read our Warranty for more information."
On heat and moisture:
"We suggest that you purchase a 100% cotton mattress pad or a thermally sensitive pad that will help wick away moisture."
2. Does it mention steam?
No. The FAQ doesn't mention steam. It says "Keep it free and clear of any liquids" and refers owners to the warranty. We haven't read Kingsdown's care booklet, so we can't say whether it mentions steam.
3. Does it mention dry-vapor steam?
No. Kingsdown's page never names dry-vapor steam. Its cautions on water still apply.
4. The restrictions it states
| Variable | What Kingsdown's page says |
|---|---|
| Water | "Keep it free and clear of any liquids." |
| Soaking | Not stated separately |
| Heat | Not stated as a cleaning rule; the heat answer suggests a moisture-wicking pad |
| Steam | Not stated in the FAQ; booklet not read |
| Chemicals | Not stated in the FAQ |
| Covers | Not stated in the FAQ |
This row set reflects the FAQ only. The booklet may add rules we haven't seen.
Every brand's restrictions sit side by side in the compatibility guide.
5. How dry vapor differs from wet cleaning
Kingsdown's FAQ asks owners to keep the mattress "free and clear of any liquids."
Dry vapor leaves far less water than carpet-style extraction, but heat and moisture are separate variables.
Vapor Clean claims the Magnum XP runs at "just 5-6% moisture" (maker's claim, not our measurement).
The EPA advises drying wet materials within 24 to 48 hours; the hub's drying note explains why.
6. Sleep Sanitation's professional interpretation
This section is our view, not Kingsdown's.
Kingsdown's guidance is the default for owners: a mattress pad, a proper frame, no liquids on the mattress, and the care and warranty booklet for anything else.
Our position: we can sanitize Kingsdown mattresses (the CDC's sense, not disinfection). Kingsdown asks owners to keep liquids off the mattress, so on a Kingsdown we keep moisture to the fabric surface with low output and quick passes, use no products, and ask owners to check their booklet first.
We run three Italian-made Vapor Clean machines, the Magnum XP, ProV 350 and Pro6 Duo, at low steam output.
Passes stay quick and light. We don't unzip covers, soak the bed, or use bleach or solvents.
This is our method, not a Kingsdown exemption, and Kingsdown hasn't reviewed it. Check your warranty terms before booking.
Kingsdown's FAQ says to read its warranty for more information; we couldn't read the booklet.
Not legal advice; if you're unsure, ask the manufacturer.
Kingsdown's own cleaning routine
- Pad and frame. "the best ways to protect your mattress."
- No liquids. Keep the mattress free and clear of them.
- Rotation. After the first month, then four times a year, unless the booklet says otherwise.
- Booklet. The Mattress Care and Warranty booklet covers the rest.
Other care points on Kingsdown's page
On rotation:
"The recommendation is to rotate after the first month of ownership and then four times per year, as the seasons change."
Before a visit to a Kingsdown bed
Kingsdown's FAQ gives one firm cleaning rule, "Keep it free and clear of any liquids," and points owners to a care and warranty booklet. That booklet wasn't available to read when we tried, so this page quotes only the FAQ.
If you own a Kingsdown, your paper booklet or the law label may say more than we could. Read it before booking, and if it names a cleaning method or a liquid limit, tell us; it outranks anything on this page, ours included.
Kingsdown builds innerspring and hybrid beds under quilted covers, and the FAQ's liquid rule is why our technician treats the quilting with the fastest passes we run and leaves the bed uncovered to air afterward.
Kingsdown also recommends rotating the mattress after the first month and then four times a year. A visit fits that routine: rotate first, then book, so the surface we clean is the one that has carried the most weight.
Without the booklet we can't say what Kingsdown allows beyond the FAQ, so the liquid rule is the one we plan around. That means no wet spotting, no cleaner on the quilting, and nothing that leaves the bed damp at the end of the visit.
Kingsdown's FAQ is the only page here where the main care document wasn't available to read, so this page leans on the label more than most. The law label lists the fill materials, and on an innerspring or hybrid it tells us how much foam sits above the coils, which decides how cautious the passes need to be.
Common misreadings
"The FAQ is the whole story." Kingsdown points to its Mattress Care and Warranty booklet for more. Read yours.
"Not mentioned means permitted." No. Kingsdown doesn't mention steam either way. Silence is a gap in the guidance, not a permission.
How Kingsdown compares with the other brands we checked
Kingsdown is not among the five brands whose care pages mention steam. None of the 21 pages we checked mentions dry vapor.
Kingsdown's page addresses 1 of the six variables in section 4; it is silent on soaking, heat, steam, chemicals and covers.
Its water wording, for comparison: "Keep it free and clear of any liquids.".
The compatibility guide lines up all 21 pages, from Tempur-Pedic's strict water rule to the brands that tie care to warranty.
Your label and warranty
Your sewn-in label speaks for your model and outranks Kingsdown's web page. Use the hub's label checklist before any cleaning.
Where this fits
- Materials: innerspring, pillow-top.
- Related brands: Aireloom and Stearns & Foster; the full table is in the compatibility guide.
- Visits: read our process, check pricing, or schedule a visit.
Related guidance and background
How other manufacturers word the same issue, for comparison:
- Saatva. "If you have a garment steam cleaner, go over your mattress with that before vacuuming" (Saatva).
- Sleep Number. "Use only a little water—just enough to lightly dampen the spot" (Sleep Number).
- Tempur (UK). "Do not steam-clean or dry-clean the TEMPUR Material" (Tempur UK).
What we don't know
- The care booklet. Not read; it wasn't available to read when we tried.
- Cleaning method. The FAQ gives none.
- Dry-vapor steam. Kingsdown hasn't addressed it on the page we quote.
- Changes. Care pages change; we read Kingsdown's page on 2 October 2026 and will update this page if it changes.
Changelog
- 2 October 2026: First published. Kingsdown's page accessed on this date.
Sources
- Kingsdown FAQ (accessed 2026-10-02) · Kingsdown
- How to Clean Your Mattress in 5 Simple Steps (blog, accessed 2026-10-02) · Saatva
- Cleaning Your Mattress (support, accessed 2026-10-02) · Sleep Number
- Caring for your TEMPUR (UK, updated 11 July 2023, accessed 2026-10-02) · Tempur UK
- Magnum XP-Vac product page (maker's claims, accessed 2026-10-02) · Vapor Clean
- ProV 350 product page ('Italian Made'; maker's claims, accessed 2026-10-02) · Vapor Clean
- Pro6 Duo product page ('Made in Italy'; maker's claims, accessed 2026-10-02) · Vapor Clean
- Cleaning and disinfecting your school (definitions) · CDC
- A brief guide to mold, moisture and your home · US EPA
Last reviewed October 2, 2026. Manufacturer specifications and care instructions change; check the current version for your exact model. This page is general information, not medical advice. How we source and check pages: editorial standards.
